Give and Take

Conversations at the Heart of the Matter

About the show

Someone once observed that if Howard Stern and Krista Tippett had a love child, it would be Scott Jones. Scott liked that.

At "Give and Take,” Scott Jones talks with artists, authors, theologians, and political pundits about the lens through which they experience life. With empathy, humor, and a deep knowledge of religion, current events, and pop culture, Scott engages his guests in a free-flowing conversation that's entertaining, unexpected, occasionally bizarre, and oftentimes enlightening. He likes people, and it shows.

Past interviewees include Mark Oppenheimer, Melissa Febos, David French, Miroslav Volf, Dan Savage, Nadia Bolz-Weber, Rob Bell, and (yes) Krista Tippett.

Scott is the former host and producer of the popular Mockingcast podcast (https://themockingcast.fireside.fm) and an in-demand consultant on all things “pod.” He’s also the co-host, with Bill Borror, of New Persuasive Words (https://npw.fireside.fm). Scott is also a prolific writer, a frequent conference speaker, a PhD candidate in Theology, and an ordained minister.

A New Jersey native, Scott lives with his best friend and wife, Lindy, in the suburbs of Philadelphia with two rescue pit bulls that he swears are sensitive souls.

Give and Take on social media

Episodes

  • Everything Belongs To Us, With Yoojin Grace Wuertz

    April 20th, 2017  |  43 mins 44 secs

    Today's guest is Yoojin Grace Wuertz. In her debut novel, "Everything Belongs To Us", two young women of vastly different means each struggle to find her own way during the darkest hours of South Korea’s “economic miracle” in a striking debut novel for readers of Anthony Marra and Chimamanda Ngozie Adichie.

  • Episode 5: Things To Do When You're Goth In The Country

    April 17th, 2017  |  50 mins 13 secs

    My guest today is Chavisa Woods. She's a Brooklyn based award winning literary writer. Her most recent book, "Things To Do When You're Goth In The Country & Other Stories" comes out in May of 2017.

  • Episode 4: Rockstar Lilly Inman

    April 16th, 2017  |  17 mins 1 sec

    My guest on this Easter Sunday special episode is Lilly Inman, rockstar. She's also my niece. She's 6 years old and she's awesome.

  • Episode 3: Fully Belly Laughs, As Do I With Brian Durkin

    April 11th, 2017  |  1 hr 14 mins

    My guest today is Brian Durkin. He's a comedian and he's the creator and curator of www.fullbellylaughs.com. He also hosts the Full Belly Laughs podcast.

  • Episode 2: The Animators

    April 4th, 2017  |  55 mins 1 sec

    My guest this week is Kayla Rae Whitaker, author of The Animators. “A wildly original novel that pulses with heart and truth . . . That this powerful exploration of friendship, desire, ambition, and secrets manages to be ebullient, gripping, heartbreaking, and deeply deeply funny is a testament to Kayla Rae Whitaker’s formidable gifts. I was so sorry to reach the final page. Sharon and Mel will stay with me for a very long time.”—Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeney, author of The Nest

  • Episode 1: Welcome to Give and Take!

    March 30th, 2017  |  1 min 34 secs

    Give and Take is where Scott Jones interviews artists, activists, authors and a wide array of other thought leaders that help make our world the interesting place it is.